Initiation

Us Todd-heads are notorious for analyzing every nuance of the Todd Rundgren/Utopia canon, as we were doing today with a thread in which I wrote:

I love how “Real Man” reprises at the end of “Fair Warning”. In fact, just the other day while listening to Initiation I was struck by the cohesion between several songs, which indicated the presence of a dispersed epic, like Genesis would later incorporate through Duke. I was trying to pinpoint where and how certain songs would link – “Real Man” > “Born to Synthesize” > “Eastern Intrigue” > “Fair Warning” – and I thought about fading them into one another. Trouble is, the incredible title track would get cut, and I’m so used to hearing that before “Fair Warning”. On the other hand, I’d get to lose the disruptive “Death of Rock n’ Roll”.

Leave a Reply

